Jump to content
  • Your profile and account how to use

    1. 1

      Account overview

      You account on Lonely People is the heartbeat of your membership.  You can: Change settings Change preferences Change notifications Upload an Avatar Upload a cover photo See who views your profile Add a status update Reply to messages left by other members Add a signature Change security settings Change password and email address ... and so much more. We give you the tools and control to make your time here more enjoyable, more informative and more secure. Everything that you do in Lonely People is linked to your account giving you access to information you need about your time spent here. Follow the next steps to discover what you can do in your account.
    2. 2

      Accessing your account

      You access your account by clicking on your member name at the top of every page: Access your main profile page, this is what other members can see and determine who you are Sticky Notes - lets you see what sticky notes you have sent to other members and what they have sent to you My Attachments - everytime you attach an image to a post it will be stored here so they can be used again if you wish Manage Followed Content - as it says on the tin you can manage any content you have chosen to follow Account Settings - this is your private area where you decide what happens with your account Ignored Users - sometimes you may wish to ignore certain members for whatever reason, you can manage them here Sign Out - what it says on the tin, you sign out and revert to a visitor/guest status By clicking or tapping on each of the items will open a new page or set of options; these are discussed in the next steps.
    3. 3

      Your profile and options

      Your profile is your public facing page telling others who you are and showing what you have contributed.  Many of the boxed sections on the left are self explanatory, but if you have a question about any of them add your comment in the box below. The red arrow points to an image, click this image to change your profile photo or avatar; an additional box with options will appear, choose which you prefer and when complete click SAVE: The first orange arrow points to your profile photo (in this instance it is a system generated avatar).  The second indicates how many content items you have contributed to the site as a whole. The next two are self explanatory. On the right are some additional controls: Edit Profile will open up an additional box where you can add your birthday details, an 'About me' section and whether you want to enable or disable status updates (these are messages you and other members can leave on your profile). Cover Photo will allow you to adorn your profile header with a nice cover photo - you can change this as often as you wish.  Photos must be on your device as this is an 'upload' only function. See my activity - does what it says, shows you a list of all your activity throughout the site (everything that is public, nothing that is personal).  
    4. 4

      Your account settings

      Your account settings is your own personal and private area in which you can control several functions and make changes to your account. You can change your email address - you will be required to reconfirm your new address You can change your password - existing password is required in order to do this Account Security - you will need your password to enter here; within you can activate Two-Factor authentication - we use Google authenticator on this site and you can download the app to your mobile device from the Play Store Recently used devices - shows what devices have been used to access your account Signature - add a signature to your posts; this can be an image or text Invitations - allows you to send an invitation to someone you know to join; add their name and email address to continue Sticky Notes - you can block members from sending you sticky notes; choose their member name and click SAVE Please take care when making changes to email addresses and passwords as mistakes can lock you out; likewise be sure to follow all instructions when adding two-factor authentication. There are more options on the left of the screen (shown below): Notification settings allows you to choose how you wish to receive your notifications (if any).  The list is quite extensive allowing you to fine tune what you wish to be apprised of. And following this are numerous options which you can choose from or reject; a green tick means the option is active, greyed out X means inactive.  You can choose between internal and email options (either, neither or both) - the choice is yours and the definitions are self explanatory. Edit profile takes to where you can edit your profile as explained in a previous step. Ignored Users allows you to add or remove users to and from your list. Any problems or questions leave a comment below.
    Sign in to follow this  
×

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue.